Dr. Agnieszka Zurek

While it's natural to experience stress, it's not always easy to stop it.

In 2013, according to Statistics Canada, 23% of Canadians aged 15 and older reported feeling stressed. The response to stress is regulated by cells and circuits in the brain.

With her Banting postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Calgary, Dr. Agnieszka Zurek is studying how the memory of a traumatic event (such as witnessing a car accident or suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder due to an experience of war) can hijack the brain's stress circuits and disrupt the brain's delicate balance of communication.

She first became interested in neuroscience when she was evaluated by an electroencephalogram (EEG) as a child.

“They could actually see what was happening in my brain,” said Dr. Zurek. “That inspired me to study the brain.”

After completing her undergraduate degree and PhD in neuroscience at the University of Toronto, she joined the Hotchkiss Brain Institute at the University of Calgary, which has some of the best stress laboratories in the world and offers a collaborative work environment.

The results of Dr. Zurek's work could someday lead to the development of new therapies for stress, including medications and group therapy sessions.

“The brain is a fascinating area of the human body,” added Dr. Zurek. “If we can understand how it processes and adapts to stress at a cellular level, we can begin to develop new therapeutic interventions that target stress-related disorders.”

Date modified:

Dre Agnieszka Zurek

Même s’il est naturel de ressentir du stress, s’en débarrasser n’est pas toujours une mince affaire.

En 2013, selon Statistique Canada, 23 % des Canadiens âgés de 15 ans et plus déclaraient se sentir stressés. La réponse au stress est régulée par un ensemble de cellules et de circuits dans le cerveau. 

Avec sa bourse postdoctorale Banting de l’Université de Calgary, la Dre Agnieszka Zurek étudie la façon dont le souvenir d’un évènement traumatisant (p. ex. avoir été témoin d’un accident de voiture ou avoir vécu l’expérience de la guerre et l’état de stress post-traumatique en résultant) peut saboter les circuits cérébraux du stress et nuire à l’équilibre fragile du système de communication dans le cerveau.

Son intérêt pour les neurosciences a été éveillé lorsqu’elle a subi, enfant, un électroencéphalogramme.

Elle se rappelle : « Les médecins pouvaient réellement voir ce qui se passait dans ma tête, et cela m’a amenée à vouloir étudier le cerveau. »

Après des études de premier cycle et un doctorat en neurosciences à l’Université de Toronto, elle s’est jointe au Hotchkiss Brain Institute de l’Université de Calgary, qui est doté de certains des meilleurs laboratoires de recherche sur le stress au monde et qui offre un environnement de travail axé sur la collaboration.

Les résultats des travaux de la Dre Zurek pourraient un jour mener à la mise au point de nouveaux traitements contre le stress, y compris des médicaments et des thérapies de groupe.

Elle conclut ainsi : « Le cerveau est un volet fascinant du corps humain. Si nous arrivons à comprendre comment il traite le stress et s’y adapte au niveau cellulaire, nous pourrons commencer à concevoir de nouvelles thérapies ciblant les troubles liés au stress. »

Date de modification :