Dr. Olivier Roy-Baillargeon

What if suburban residents didn’t need a car to get to their downtown jobs? 

As a Banting Postdoctoral Fellow in the School of Planning at the University of Waterloo, Dr. Roy-Baillargeon is researching how planners and policymakers at federal and provincial levels can help Montreal and Toronto build a transit system in the suburbs that will benefit the environment.

“For many decades now, local and regional policies in Montreal and Toronto have focused on reducing use of cars through the development of inner city neighbourhoods and subway systems for the downtown cores,” said Dr. Olivier Roy-Baillargeon. “But that did not stop provincial and federal governments from funding the construction of highways and suburban housing.”

By helping suburban residents use public transit, Dr. Roy-Baillargeon believes that planners and policymakers can help improve air quality and also reduce the need for more highways, due to the decreased number of vehicles on the road.

“Through a greater coordination of planning and governance,” added Dr. Roy-Baillargeon, “I firmly believe that citizens, interest groups, planners and local politicians can achieve greater goals that benefit society as a whole.”

Dr. Roy-Baillargeon completed his BA in Social Sciences and his MA in Regional Development at the Université of Québec in Outaouais, in 2009 and 2011 respectively, and he received his PhD in Planning at University of Montréal in 2015.

Date modified:

Dr Olivier Roy-Baillargeon

Et si les banlieusards n’avaient pas besoin de voiture pour se rendre à leur travail au centre-ville? 

En tant que boursier postdoctoral Banting à l’École de planification de l’Université de Waterloo, le Dr Olivier Roy-Baillargeon se livre à une étude visant à déterminer comment les planificateurs et les responsables des politiques aux paliers fédéral et provincial peuvent aider Montréal et Toronto à développer dans leur périphérie un système de transport en commun qui respectera l’environnement.

« Depuis maintenant plusieurs décennies, les politiques locales et régionales à Montréal et à Toronto sont axées sur la réduction de l’utilisation des voitures par le développement des quartiers intra-urbains et de métros souterrains desservant le centre-ville », explique le Dr Roy-Baillargeon. « Mais cela n’a pas empêché les gouvernements provinciaux et fédéral de financer la construction d’autoroutes et d’habitations en banlieue. »

En aidant les banlieusards à se servir du transport en commun, le Dr Roy-Baillargeon pense que les planificateurs et les responsables des politiques peuvent contribuer à l’amélioration de la qualité de l’air et à la réduction des besoins en nouvelles autoroutes, par suite de la baisse du nombre de véhicules sur les routes.

Il conclut ainsi : « Par une meilleure coordination de la planification et de la gouvernance, je suis convaincu que les citoyens, les groupes d’intérêt, les planificateurs et les élus locaux peuvent réaliser des objectifs de plus grande envergure qui profiteront à l’ensemble de la société. »

Détenteur d’un baccalauréat en sciences sociales (2009) et d’une maîtrise en développement régional (2011) de l’Université du Québec en Outaouais, le Dr Roy-Baillargeon a obtenu un doctorat en planification de l’Université de Montréal en 2015.

Date de modification :