Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

The Government of Canada is committed to ensuring that all trainees have equitable access to research funding and career support. Equity is an integral part of a sustainable research ecosystem as it encourages greater diversity among applicants. Studies show that diversity—of not only scientific expertise but also the people conducting and participating in the research—leads to more creativity and more innovation.

The Banting program strives to promote equity, diversity and inclusion throughout the application, review, and selection processes. To better equip all those participating in the Banting competition (applicants, host institutions, referees, reviewers and readers), the Tri-Agencies have curated an important list of resources to help guide each group.

For Applicants

Promoting equity, diversity and inclusion

Sex and Gender Based Analysis Plus (SGBA+) is the process by which we ensure sound equity, diversity and inclusion principles are applied to research design, methods, analysis and interpretation, and/or dissemination of research findings. In the context of research, SGBA+ is an analytical process used to systematically examine how differences in identity factors, such as sex, gender, race, ethnicity, religion, age and mental or physical disability, affect the outcomes of research and the impacts of research findings. The purpose is to promote rigorous research that considers identity factors so that the results are impactful and relevant to the diversity of the population. Applicants must provide a strong rationale if they believe that no aspect of the proposed research’s design, methods, analysis and interpretation, and/or dissemination of findings should take SGBA+ into consideration.

Applicants are strongly encouraged to take the Status of Women Canada’s online Introduction to Gender-Based Analysis Plus (GBA+) course.

There is an increasing number of cited research examples that would have or have benefited from considering identity factors in the research design and process. A good source for such examples is CIHR’s “Impacts of integrating sex and gender in research” and the Stanford University Gendered Innovations project. These materials provide practical examples and methods for sex and gender considerations, in addition to other factors or variables that should be considered, such as biological, socio-cultural or psychological aspects of users, communities, customers, experimental subjects or cells. Research has demonstrated how not taking into consideration certain identity factors, such as race or age, can lead to failed research projects.

Resources

Research respectfully involving and engaging Indigenous communities

  • Tri-Council Policy Statement (TCPS 2), Chapter 9: Research Involving the First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples of Canada
    • The Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships (PDF) program is committed to supporting research by and with Indigenous Peoples. For applications in which the proposed research respectfully involves and engages Indigenous communities, applicants and host institutions should be aware of and refer to the principles and protocols established for this type of research.
    • Applicants whose proposed research respectfully involves and engages Indigenous communities are asked to include “This research respectfully involves and engages Indigenous communities” at the beginning of the lay abstract. The program administrator for each selection committee (CIHR, NSERC, SSHRC) will endeavour to ensure that the primary or secondary reviewer on these applications has expertise in Indigenous research. Reviewers and readers will be asked to read and take into consideration the following:

Note: Research respectfully involving Indigenous communities is defined as research in any field or discipline that is:

  • conducted by First Nations, Inuit, Métis or other Indigenous nations, communities, societies or individuals; and/or
  • grounded in or engaged with one or more of these communities and/or their wisdom, cultures, experiences or knowledge systems, as expressed in their dynamic forms, past and present.

Examples include:

  • projects in which water samples are extracted from Indigenous lands in South America
  • analyses of educational policies pertaining to Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians
  • cross-sectional studies of how injuries sustained by different groups of people, including Inuit youth, are treated

Reducing unconscious bias

For Host Institutions

Reducing unconscious bias

Research respectfully involving and engaging and Indigenous communities

Note: Research respectfully involving Indigenous communities is defined as research in any field or discipline that is:

  • conducted by First Nations, Inuit, Métis or other Indigenous nations, communities, societies or individuals; and/or
  • grounded in or engaged with one or more of these communities and/or their wisdom, cultures, experiences or knowledge systems, as expressed in their dynamic forms, past and present.

Examples include:

  • projects in which water samples are extracted from Indigenous lands in South America
  • analyses of educational policies pertaining to Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians
  • cross-sectional studies of how injuries sustained by different groups of people, including Inuit youth, are treated

Promoting equity, diversity and inclusion

Sex and Gender Based Analysis Plus (SGBA+) is the process by which we ensure sound equity, diversity and inclusion principles are applied to research design, methods, analysis and interpretation, and/or dissemination of research findings. In the context of research, SGBA+ is an analytical process used to systematically examine how differences in identity factors, such as sex, gender, race, ethnicity, religion, age and mental or physical disability, affect the outcomes of research and the impacts of research findings. The purpose is to promote rigorous research that considers identity factors so that the results are impactful and relevant to the diversity of the Canadian population. Applicants must provide a strong rationale if they believe that no aspect of the proposed research’s design, methods, analysis and interpretation, and/or dissemination of findings should take SGBA+ into consideration.

All stakeholders are encouraged to take the Status of Women Canada’s online Introduction to Gender-Based Analysis Plus (GBA+) course.

There is an increasing number of cited research examples that would have or have benefited from considering identity factors in the research design and process. A good source for such examples is CIHR’s “Impacts of integrating sex and gender in research” and the Stanford University Gendered Innovations project. These materials provide practical examples and methods for sex and gender considerations, in addition to other factors or variables that should be considered, such as biological, socio-cultural or psychological aspects of users, communities, customers, experimental subjects or cells. Research has demonstrated how not taking into consideration certain identity factors, such as race or age, can lead to failed research projects.

Resources

For Referees

Reducing unconscious bias

Research respectfully involving and engaging Indigenous communities

Note: Research respectfully involving Indigenous communities is defined as research in any field or discipline that is:

  • conducted by First Nations, Inuit, Métis or other Indigenous nations, communities, societies or individuals; and/or
  • grounded in or engaged with one or more of these communities and/or their wisdom, cultures, experiences or knowledge systems, as expressed in their dynamic forms, past and present.

Examples include:

  • projects in which water samples are extracted from Indigenous lands in South America
  • analyses of educational policies pertaining to Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians
  • cross-sectional studies of how injuries sustained by different groups of people, including Inuit youth, are treated

Promoting equity, diversity and inclusion

Sex and Gender Based Analysis Plus (SGBA+) is the process by which we ensure sound equity, diversity and inclusion principles are applied to research design, methods, analysis and interpretation, and/or dissemination of research findings. In the context of research, SGBA+ is an analytical process used to systematically examine how differences in identity factors, such as sex, gender, race, ethnicity, religion, age and mental or physical disability, affect the outcomes of research and the impacts of research findings. The purpose is to promote rigorous research that considers identity factors so that the results are impactful and relevant to the diversity of the Canadian population. Applicants must provide a strong rationale if they believe that no aspect of the proposed research’s design, methods, analysis and interpretation, and/or dissemination of findings should take SGBA+ into consideration.

Referees are encouraged to take the Status of Women Canada’s online Introduction to Gender-Based Analysis Plus (GBA+) course.

There is an increasing number of cited research examples that would have or have benefited from considering identity factors in the research design and process. A good source for such examples is CIHR’s “Impacts of integrating sex and gender in research” and the Stanford University Gendered Innovations project. These materials provide practical examples and methods for sex and gender considerations, in addition to other factors or variables that should be considered, such as biological, socio-cultural or psychological aspects of users, communities, customers, experimental subjects or cells. Research has demonstrated how not taking into consideration certain identity factors, such as race or age, can lead to failed research projects.

Resources

For Reviewers and Readers

Reducing unconscious bias

Research respectfully involving and engaging Indigenous communities

Note: Research respectfully involving Indigenous communities is defined as research in any field or discipline that is:

  • conducted by First Nations, Inuit, Métis or other Indigenous nations, communities, societies or individuals; and/or
  • grounded in or engaged with one or more of these communities and/or their wisdom, cultures, experiences or knowledge systems, as expressed in their dynamic forms, past and present.

Examples include:

  • projects in which water samples are extracted from Indigenous lands in South America
  • analyses of educational policies pertaining to Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians
  • cross-sectional studies of how injuries sustained by different groups of people, including Inuit youth, are treated

Promoting equity, diversity and inclusion

Sex and Gender Based Analysis Plus (SGBA+) is the process by which we ensure sound equity, diversity and inclusion principles are applied to research design, methods, analysis and interpretation, and/or dissemination of research findings. In the context of research, SGBA+ is an analytical process used to systematically examine how differences in identity factors, such as sex, gender, race, ethnicity, religion, age and mental or physical disability, affect the outcomes of research and the impacts of research findings. The purpose is to promote rigorous research that considers identity factors so that the results are impactful and relevant to the diversity of the Canadian population. Applicants must provide a strong rationale if they believe that no aspect of the proposed research’s design, methods, analysis and interpretation, and/or dissemination of findings should take SGBA+ into consideration.

Reviewers and readers are strongly encouraged to take the Status of Women Canada’s online Introduction to Gender-Based Analysis Plus (GBA+) course.

There is an increasing number of cited research examples that would have or have benefited from considering identity factors in the research design and process. A good source for such examples is CIHR’s “Impacts of integrating sex and gender in research” and the Stanford University Gendered Innovations project. These materials provide practical examples and methods for sex and gender considerations, in addition to other factors or variables that should be considered, such as biological, socio-cultural or psychological aspects of users, communities, customers, experimental subjects or cells. Research has demonstrated how not taking into consideration certain identity factors, such as race or age, can lead to failed research projects.

Resources

Date modified:

Équité, diversité et inclusion

Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à assurer à tous les stagiaires un accès équitable à du financement de recherche et à du soutien professionnel. L’équité fait partie intégrante de la viabilité de l’écosystème de recherche puisqu’elle favorise une diversité accrue chez les candidats. D’ailleurs, les études montrent que la diversité – non seulement en matière d’expertise scientifique, mais aussi des personnes participant à la recherche – contribue à davantage de créativité et d’innovation.

Le programme Banting s’efforce de promouvoir l’équité et la diversité tout au long des processus de demande, d’évaluation et de sélection. Afin de mieux outiller tous les participants au concours Banting (candidats, établissements d’accueil, répondants, évaluateurs et lecteurs), les trois organismes ont dressé une importante liste de ressources pour guider chaque groupe.

Candidats

Promotion de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion

L’analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe et le genre plus (ACSG+) est un processus qui permet de s’assurer que les principes d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion sont appliqués dans la conception de la recherche, les méthodes et l’analyse ainsi que dans l’interprétation et la diffusion des résultats de recherche. Dans le contexte de la recherche, l’ACSG+ est un processus analytique utilisé pour examiner systématiquement les effets que les différences liées aux facteurs identitaires, comme le sexe, le genre, la race, l’origine ethnique, la religion, l’âge ou le fait de vivre avec un handicap de nature physique ou intellectuelle, pourraient avoir sur les résultats de la recherche ainsi que sur les impacts de ces résultats. Elle vise à promouvoir des recherches rigoureuses qui tiennent compte des facteurs identitaires afin que les résultats soient percutants et pertinents pour la diversité de la population canadienne. Les candidats doivent fournir une justification convaincante s’ils croient qu’aucun aspect de la conception de la recherche, des méthodes, de l’analyse ainsi que de l’interprétation et de la diffusion des résultats ne devrait tenir compte de l’ACSG+.

Les candidats sont fortement encouragés à suivre le cours en ligne sur l’ACS+ de Condition féminine Canada.

Les exemples de travaux de recherche dans lesquels la prise en compte de facteurs identitaires aurait été ou a été bénéfique sont de plus en plus nombreux. De tels exemples sont présentés dans la page Web Effets de l’intégration du sexe et du genre à la recherche des IRSC et celle du projet Gendered Innovations de l’Université Stanford (en anglais seulement). Ces sources permettent de découvrir des méthodes et des exemples concrets d’intégration des notions de sexe et de genre ainsi que d’autres facteurs ou variables, comme les caractéristiques biologiques, socioculturelles et psychologiques des utilisateurs, des communautés, des consommateurs, des sujets expérimentaux ou des cellules, dans la conception et la réalisation d’une recherche. Des études démontrent que le fait de ne pas tenir compte de certains facteurs identitaires, comme la race ou l’âge, peut faire échouer un projet de recherche.

Ressources

Recherche impliquant respectueusement les communautés autochtones

Remarque : Une recherche qui implique respectueusement les communautés autochtones est définie comme une recherche réalisée dans n’importe quel domaine ou n’importe quelle discipline :

  • qui est menée par des communautés, des sociétés ou des personnes des Premières Nations, des peuples inuits ou métis ou d’autres nations autochtones; et/ou
  • qui concerne et repose sur une ou plusieurs de ces communautés et/ou leur sagesse, leurs cultures, leurs expériences ou leurs systèmes de connaissances exprimés dans des formes dynamiques, passées et actuelles.

Voici quelques exemples :

  • Projets portant sur des échantillons d’eau prélevés sur des terres autochtones en Amérique du Sud
  • Analyses des politiques éducatives relatives aux Australiens autochtones et non autochtones
  • Études transversales du mode de traitement des blessures au sein de divers groupes de personnes, y compris les jeunes Inuits

Réduction des préjugés inconscients

Établissements d’accueil

Réduction des préjugés inconscients

Recherche impliquant respectueusement les communautés autochtones

Remarque : Une recherche qui implique respectueusement les communautés autochtones est définie comme une recherche réalisée dans n’importe quel domaine ou n’importe quelle discipline :

  • qui est menée par des communautés, des sociétés ou des personnes des Premières Nations, des peuples inuits ou métis ou d’autres nations autochtones; et/ou
  • qui concerne et repose sur une ou plusieurs de ces communautés et/ou leur sagesse, leurs cultures, leurs expériences ou leurs systèmes de connaissances exprimés dans des formes dynamiques, passées et actuelles.

Voici quelques exemples :

  • Projets portant sur des échantillons d’eau prélevés sur des terres autochtones en Amérique du Sud
  • Analyses des politiques éducatives relatives aux Australiens autochtones et non autochtones
  • Études transversales du mode de traitement des blessures au sein de divers groupes de personnes, y compris les jeunes Inuits

Promotion de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion

L’analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe et le genre plus (ACSG+) est un processus qui permet de s’assurer que les principes d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion sont appliqués dans la conception de la recherche, les méthodes et l’analyse ainsi que dans l’interprétation et la diffusion des résultats de recherche. Dans le contexte de la recherche, l’ACSG+ est un processus analytique utilisé pour examiner systématiquement les effets que les différences liées aux facteurs identitaires, comme le sexe, le genre, la race, l’origine ethnique, la religion, l’âge ou le fait de vivre avec un handicap de nature physique ou intellectuelle, pourraient avoir sur les résultats de la recherche ainsi que sur les impacts de ces résultats. Elle vise à promouvoir des recherches rigoureuses qui tiennent compte des facteurs identitaires afin que les résultats soient percutants et pertinents pour la diversité de la population canadienne. Les candidats doivent fournir une justification convaincante s’ils croient qu’aucun aspect de la conception de la recherche, des méthodes, de l’analyse ainsi que de l’interprétation et de la diffusion des résultats ne devrait tenir compte de l’ACSG+.

Les candidats sont fortement encouragés à suivre le cours en ligne sur l’ACS+ de Condition féminine Canada.

Les exemples de travaux de recherche dans lesquels la prise en compte de facteurs identitaires aurait été ou a été bénéfique sont de plus en plus nombreux. De tels exemples sont présentés dans la page Web Effets de l’intégration du sexe et du genre à la recherche des IRSC et celle du projet Gendered Innovations de l’Université Stanford (en anglais seulement). Ces sources permettent de découvrir des méthodes et des exemples concrets d’intégration des notions de sexe et de genre ainsi que d’autres facteurs ou variables, comme les caractéristiques biologiques, socioculturelles et psychologiques des utilisateurs, des communautés, des consommateurs, des sujets expérimentaux ou des cellules, dans la conception et la réalisation d’une recherche. Des études démontrent que le fait de ne pas tenir compte de certains facteurs identitaires, comme la race ou l’âge, peut faire échouer un projet de recherche.

Ressources

Répondants

Réduction des préjugés inconscients

Recherche impliquant respectueusement les communautés autochtones

Remarque : Une recherche qui implique respectueusement les communautés autochtones est définie comme une recherche réalisée dans n’importe quel domaine ou n’importe quelle discipline :

  • qui est menée par des communautés, des sociétés ou des personnes des Premières Nations, des peuples inuits ou métis ou d’autres nations autochtones; et/ou
  • qui concerne et repose sur une ou plusieurs de ces communautés et/ou leur sagesse, leurs cultures, leurs expériences ou leurs systèmes de connaissances exprimés dans des formes dynamiques, passées et actuelles.

Voici quelques exemples :

  • Projets portant sur des échantillons d’eau prélevés sur des terres autochtones en Amérique du Sud
  • Analyses des politiques éducatives relatives aux Australiens autochtones et non autochtones
  • Études transversales du mode de traitement des blessures au sein de divers groupes de personnes, y compris les jeunes Inuits

Promotion de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion

L’analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe et le genre plus (ACSG+) est un processus qui permet de s’assurer que les principes d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion sont appliqués dans la conception de la recherche, les méthodes et l’analyse ainsi que dans l’interprétation et la diffusion des résultats de recherche. Dans le contexte de la recherche, l’ACSG+ est un processus analytique utilisé pour examiner systématiquement les effets que les différences liées aux facteurs identitaires, comme le sexe, le genre, la race, l’origine ethnique, la religion, l’âge ou le fait de vivre avec un handicap de nature physique ou intellectuelle, pourraient avoir sur les résultats de la recherche ainsi que sur les impacts de ces résultats. Elle vise à promouvoir des recherches rigoureuses qui tiennent compte des facteurs identitaires afin que les résultats soient percutants et pertinents pour la diversité de la population canadienne. Les candidats doivent fournir une justification convaincante s’ils croient qu’aucun aspect de la conception de la recherche, des méthodes, de l’analyse ainsi que de l’interprétation et de la diffusion des résultats ne devrait tenir compte de l’ACSG+.

Les candidats sont fortement encouragés à suivre le cours en ligne sur l’ACS+ de Condition féminine Canada.

Les exemples de travaux de recherche dans lesquels la prise en compte de facteurs identitaires aurait été ou a été bénéfique sont de plus en plus nombreux. De tels exemples sont présentés dans la page Web Effets de l’intégration du sexe et du genre à la recherche des IRSC et celle du projet Gendered Innovations de l’Université Stanford (en anglais seulement). Ces sources permettent de découvrir des méthodes et des exemples concrets d’intégration des notions de sexe et de genre ainsi que d’autres facteurs ou variables, comme les caractéristiques biologiques, socioculturelles et psychologiques des utilisateurs, des communautés, des consommateurs, des sujets expérimentaux ou des cellules, dans la conception et la réalisation d’une recherche. Des études démontrent que le fait de ne pas tenir compte de certains facteurs identitaires, comme la race ou l’âge, peut faire échouer un projet de recherche.

Ressources

Évaluateurs et lecteurs

Réduction des préjugés inconscients

Recherche impliquant respectueusement les communautés autochtones

Remarque : Une recherche qui implique respectueusement les communautés autochtones est définie comme une recherche réalisée dans n’importe quel domaine ou n’importe quelle discipline :

  • qui est menée par des communautés, des sociétés ou des personnes des Premières Nations, des peuples inuits ou métis ou d’autres nations autochtones; et/ou
  • qui concerne et repose sur une ou plusieurs de ces communautés et/ou leur sagesse, leurs cultures, leurs expériences ou leurs systèmes de connaissances exprimés dans des formes dynamiques, passées et actuelles.

Voici quelques exemples :

  • Projets portant sur des échantillons d’eau prélevés sur des terres autochtones en Amérique du Sud
  • Analyses des politiques éducatives relatives aux Australiens autochtones et non autochtones
  • Études transversales du mode de traitement des blessures au sein de divers groupes de personnes, y compris les jeunes Inuits

Promotion de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion

L’analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe et le genre plus (ACSG+) est un processus qui permet de s’assurer que les principes d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion sont appliqués dans la conception de la recherche, les méthodes et l’analyse ainsi que dans l’interprétation et la diffusion des résultats de recherche. Dans le contexte de la recherche, l’ACSG+ est un processus analytique utilisé pour examiner systématiquement les effets que les différences liées aux facteurs identitaires, comme le sexe, le genre, la race, l’origine ethnique, la religion, l’âge ou le fait de vivre avec un handicap de nature physique ou intellectuelle, pourraient avoir sur les résultats de la recherche ainsi que sur les impacts de ces résultats. Elle vise à promouvoir des recherches rigoureuses qui tiennent compte des facteurs identitaires afin que les résultats soient percutants et pertinents pour la diversité de la population canadienne. Les candidats doivent fournir une justification convaincante s’ils croient qu’aucun aspect de la conception de la recherche, des méthodes, de l’analyse ainsi que de l’interprétation et de la diffusion des résultats ne devrait tenir compte de l’ACSG+.

Les candidats sont fortement encouragés à suivre le cours en ligne sur l’ACS+ de Condition féminine Canada.

Les exemples de travaux de recherche dans lesquels la prise en compte de facteurs identitaires aurait été ou a été bénéfique sont de plus en plus nombreux. De tels exemples sont présentés dans la page Web Effets de l’intégration du sexe et du genre à la recherche des IRSC et celle du projet Gendered Innovations de l’Université Stanford (en anglais seulement). Ces sources permettent de découvrir des méthodes et des exemples concrets d’intégration des notions de sexe et de genre ainsi que d’autres facteurs ou variables, comme les caractéristiques biologiques, socioculturelles et psychologiques des utilisateurs, des communautés, des consommateurs, des sujets expérimentaux ou des cellules, dans la conception et la réalisation d’une recherche. Des études démontrent que le fait de ne pas tenir compte de certains facteurs identitaires, comme la race ou l’âge, peut faire échouer un projet de recherche.

Ressources

Date de modification :