Information for referees

The Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships (Banting PDF) program of Canada provides funding to the very best postdoctoral applicants, both nationally and internationally, who will positively contribute to the country's economic, social and research-based growth. For more information about the program, please refer to About Us.

The objective of the Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships program is to:

Application for this fellowship includes the assessment from three (3) referees. Please refer to the application guide for more details.

Referee Assessment

Banting PDF applications are reviewed by one of three multidisciplinary selection committees based on broad discipline areas: Health, Natural Sciences and/or Engineering or Social Sciences and/or Humanities.

Selection Committee members consider referee assessments as part of their overall review and to corroborate their evaluation of the application. The assessments therefore, play a critical role in the review process. There are three parts to this assessment:

  1. Applicant's research excellence and demonstrated leadership.
  2. Merit of the proposed research
  3. Suitability of the proposed research environment

Providing examples/evidence to support the assessment in comparison to the norms particular to the research area(s) is very useful. The following are some examples of useful information:

It is the applicant’s responsibility to provide referees with the information that they need in order to complete their assessments

Limiting Unconscious Bias

Biases may manifest themselves in several ways and could be based on a school of thought, fundamental versus applied or translational research, areas of research or approaches (including emerging ones), size or reputation of a participating institution, age, language, personal factors or gender of the applicant.

Referees are cautioned against any judgment of an application based on such factors, and asked to constantly guard against the possibility of implicit bias influencing their assessment or the review of the application by the selection committee.

The Tri-agencies are actively engaged in increasing gender equity in their review processes.

Please refer to these tips to reinforce standards of fairness, respect and equity.

Request for an assessment

Referees will receive a request via e-mail from ResearchNet (an application platform used by the Banting PDF program) with instructions on how to link to the assessment form.

Deadline for the assessment

The referee assessment should be submitted via ResearchNet no later than the deadline date displayed in yellow on the online referee assessment page. This deadline is set to 2 days prior to the applicant's submission deadline to allow sufficient time for the applicant to submit the application. The system, however, will remain open for referees to submit their assessments until the application deadline date.

Applicants will not be able to submit their applications if the assessments are not received by this deadline.

Date modified:

Information à l’intention des répondants

Le Programme de bourses postdoctorales Banting du Canada (BP Banting) offre du financement aux meilleurs candidats postdoctoraux, au niveau national et international, afin qu’ils contribuent à l’essor économique, social et scientifique du Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le programme, consultez À propos de nous.

L’objectif du Programme de bourses postdoctorales Banting est :

Le processus de demande pour cette bourse comprend une évaluation par trois (3) répondants. Veuillez vous reporter au Guide de présentation des demandes pour de plus amples renseignements.

Évaluation des répondants

Les demandes de BP Banting sont évaluées par un des trois comités de sélection multidisciplinaires par rapport à trois grandes disciplines : santé, sciences naturelles ou génie, sciences sociales.

Les membres du comité de sélection tiennent compte de l’évaluation des répondants dans leur examen global et pour corroborer leur évaluation des demandes. Les évaluations des répondants jouent donc un rôle critique dans le processus d’évaluation. L’évaluation des répondants comporte trois parties :

  1. Excellence de la recherche du candidat et du leadership dont il a fait preuve
  2. Mérite de la recherche proposée
  3. Pertinence de l’environnement de recherche proposé

Il est très utile de fournir des exemples/preuves pour appuyer l’évaluation par rapport aux normes particulières des domaines de recherche. Voici quelques exemples d’information utile :

Il incombe au candidat de fournir aux répondants l’information dont ils ont besoin pour remplir leur évaluation.

Réduire les préjugés inconscients

Les préjugés peuvent se manifester de diverses façons et reposer sur une école de pensée, la nature fondamentale vs appliquée ou translationnelle de la recherche, les domaines de recherche ou les approches (émergentes notamment), l’envergure ou la réputation d’un établissement participant, l’âge, la langue, des facteurs personnels ou le sexe du candidat.

Les répondants sont mis en garde contre tout jugement d’une demande basée sur les facteurs susmentionnés et sont priés de faire constamment attention au danger de préjugé implicite pouvant influencer leur évaluation ou examen de la demande par le comité de sélection.

Les trois organismes subventionnaires s’emploient activement à accroître l’égalité entre les sexes dans leurs processus d’évaluation.

Lisez ces conseils pour renforcer les normes d’impartialité, de respect et d’équité.

Demande d’évaluation

Les répondants recevront par courriel une demande de RechercheNet (plateforme de présentation des demandes utilisée par le Programme de BP Banting) leur expliquant comment se rendre au formulaire d’évaluation.

Date limite pour l’évaluation

Le formulaire du répondant devrait être soumis par RechercheNet au plus tard à la date limite indiquée en jaune dans l’évaluation en ligne. Cette date est fixée à deux jours avant la date limite de présentation de la demande imposée au candidat afin de laisser un délai suffisant au candidat pour présenter sa demande. Toutefois, le système demeurera ouvert jusqu’à la date limite de présentation des demandes.

Les candidats ne pourront pas soumettre leur demande si les évaluations des répondants ne sont pas reçues d’ici à la date limite.

Date de modification :