Review process overview

All applications to the Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships program will undergo an evaluation by an agency-specific selection committee.

Applications will be reviewed against the 3 equally weighted selection criteria, and ranked.

The ranked list of all the applications will be submitted to the Tri-agency programs steering committee for their approval.

The Tri-agency programs steering committee, made up of the presidents of the three federal granting agencies, and the deputy ministers of Industry Canada and Health Canada, will approve the final slate of 70 awardees annually.

Selection criteria

  1. Research excellence and leadership in the research domain – demonstrated capacity for research excellence based on track record as defined by quality of applicant's research contribution, and demonstrated capacity for leadership in the research domain defined by the sphere of influence achieved to date by the applicant.
  2. Quality of applicant's proposed research program – examined in terms of the potential of the proposed research program, executed in the proposed institutional environment, to position the applicant for significant impact through a research-intensive career (potential for significant impact).
  3. Institutional commitment and demonstrated synergy between applicant and institutional strategic priorities
    • Demonstrated commitment of the institution to support development of the applicant's research and leadership capacity through institutional support (funding, facilities, equipment, etc.) and professional development
    • Demonstrated alignment and synergy between the applicant's research ambitions and the institution's potential to benefit strategically from engagement with the applicant (alignment with institution's strategic priorities)

Process

Administration Vanier-Banting Secretariat

The Vanier-Banting Secretariat, which is housed within the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, is responsible for the day-to-day administration of the program.

Review Selection committee

All applications to the Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships program will undergo an evaluation by an agency-specific selection committee. Applications are assigned to one of these committees based on the proposed area of research identified by the applicant as part of their application. However, the Vanier-Banting Secretariat reserves the right to make the final assignment of applications based on the mandates of the agencies.

For more information, please refer to Selecting the Appropriate Federal Granting Agency.

The selection committees will review applications in relation to the stated selection criteria, and each selection committee will recommend the 23 or 24 most meritorious applicants based on those criteria.

Members of the selection committees are appointed based on their leadership, research excellence and review experience.

The following members served on the 2016–2017 Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships agency-specific selection committees:

ApprovalTri-agency programs steering committee

The Tri-agency programs steering committee, made up of the presidents of the three federal granting agencies, and the deputy ministers of Industry Canada and Health Canada, makes the final decision pertaining to the recommendations for Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships.

Each year, the Tri-agency programs steering committee approves 70 recipients that have been recommended by the selection committees (for a total of 140 active awards after the first year).

Timelines

September Application deadline – applications are received.
October/November
Applications are reviewed for eligibility and assigned to reviewers.
November Evaluation of applications by reviewers.
December Selection committees meet to discuss applications and finalize their recommendations.
January The Tri-agency programs steering committee meets to approve the ranked list of applications recommended by the selection committees.
February The Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships program applicants are notified of their results in the competition.
April to October Tenure of the fellowship may begin.

Notification of decision

Following approval by the Tri-agency programs steering committee, the Vanier-Banting Secretariat will notify applicants of the results of their application by posting a decision letter to their ResearchNet account.

The names of the Banting Postdoctoral Fellows and other basic award information will be published on the Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships program website.

For more information on the posting of and access to information, please refer to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act.

Date modified:

Aperçu du processus d'évaluation

Toutes les demandes présentées au Programme de bourses postdoctorales Banting  feront l’objet d’une évaluation par un comité de sélection propre à chaque organisme.

Les demandes seront évaluées et classées en fonction de trois (3) critères de sélection ayant la même pondération.

La liste de classement  des demandes est ensuite soumise au comité directeur des programmes des trois organismes aux fins d'approbation.

Le comité directeur des programmes des trois organismes, formé des présidents des trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux et des sous-ministres d'Industrie Canada et de Santé Canada, approuvera la liste finale des 70 boursiers choisis chaque année.

Critères de sélection

  1. Excellence et leadership dans le domaine de la recherche – capacité manifeste d'exceller en recherche selon la feuille de route du candidat, définie par la qualité de sa contribution à la recherche, et la capacité manifeste de leadership dans le domaine de la recherche selon la sphère d'influence acquise par le candidat à ce jour.
  2. Qualité du programme de recherche proposé du candidat – déterminée par rapport au potentiel du programme de recherche proposé, réalisé dans le milieu institutionnel proposé, afin de positionner le candidat pour qu’il ait un impact important au fil d’une carrière axée sur la recherche (possibilité d’un impact important).
  3. Engagement de l'établissement et synergie manifeste entre le candidat et les priorités stratégiques de l'établissement
    • Engagement manifeste de l'établissement à appuyer le développement de la capacité de recherche et de leadership du candidat (en lui fournissant du financement, des installations, du matériel, etc.) ainsi que son perfectionnement professionnel
    • Concordance et synergie manifestes entre les aspirations de recherche du candidat et le potentiel de l'établissement à tirer un avantage stratégique de son engagement avec le candidat (alignement sur les priorités stratégiques de l'établissement)

Processus

Administration – Secrétariat Vanier-Banting

Le Secrétariat Vanier-Banting, qui partage les locaux des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, est responsable de l’administration quotidienne du programme.

Examen – comité de sélection

Toutes les demandes présentées dans le cadre du Programme de bourses postdoctorales Banting seront évaluées par un comité de sélection propre à chaque organisme. Les demandes seront assignées à l'un de ces comités en fonction du domaine d'étude proposé par le candidat dans sa demande. Cependant, le Secrétariat Vanier-Banting se réserve le droit de choisir le comité à qui la demande sera confiée, en fonction des mandats des organismes subventionnaires fédéraux.

Pour plus de détails, veuillez consulter Choisir le bon organisme subventionnaire fédéral.

Les comités de sélection évalueront les demandes en vue des critères de sélection énoncés, et chaque comité de sélection recommandera les 23 ou 24 candidats les plus méritants à la lumière de ces critères.

Les membres des comités de sélection sont choisis en fonction de leur leadership, de l'excellence de leur recherche et de leur expérience en évaluation.

Voici, pour chaque organisme, la liste des membres des comités de sélection du concours 2016-2017 du Programme de bourses postdoctorales Banting :

Approbation – Comité directeur des programmes des trois organismes

Le comité directeur des programmes des trois organismes, formé des présidents des trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux et des sous-ministres d'Industrie Canada et de Santé Canada, prend la décision finale quant aux recommandations pour l'octroi de bourses postdoctorales Banting.

Chaque année, le comité directeur des programmes des trois organismes  approuve 70 récipiendaires recommandés par les comités de sélection (pour un total de 140 bourses en vigueur après la première année).

Calendrier

Septembre Date limite pour présenter une demande – réception des demandes.
Octobre/novembre Les demandes font l'objet d'un examen pour établir leur admissibilité; elles sont ensuite confiées à des évaluateurs.
Novembre Évaluation des demandes par les évaluateurs.
Décembre Les comités de sélection se réunissent pour discuter des demandes et finaliser leurs recommandations.
Janvier Les membres du comité directeur des programmes des trois organismes se réunissent pour approuver la liste de classement des demandes recommandées par les comités de sélection.
Février Les candidats au Programme de bourses postdoctorales Banting sont informés des résultats du concours.
Avril à octobre Période où les bourses peuvent commencer à être versées.

Notification de la décision

Une fois les recommandations approuvées par le comité directeur des programmes des trois organismes, les organismes subventionnaires fédéraux informeront les candidats de la réponse à leur demande dans une lettre de décision affichée dans leur compte RechercheNet.

La liste des récipiendaires d'une bourse postdoctorale Banting et d'autres renseignements de base sur la bourse seront publiés sur le site Web du Programme de bourses postdoctorales Banting.

Pour plus de détails sur l’affichage et l’accès à l’information, veuillez consulter la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Date de modification :